Featured Faculty: Jeff Pruitt

Jeff Pruitt has been an Instructor of English at JSU since 2017. He’s passionate about introducing American Literature to first-generation students at JSU.

Where are you from?

I am from Fort Payne, AL, which is about an hour away from Jacksonville. I have been a Faculty Instructor since the Fall of 2017, but my association with Jacksonville State goes back further. I have received all of my degrees from here–degrees in Communication and in English in 2007 and a Master of Arts degree in English in 2015.

What classes are you teaching this semester?

EH 201 and 202–the American Literature survey courses. I love the process of literary analysis and then discussion of the ideas and concepts present in those works.

What do you love most about teaching English at JSU?

I enjoy being part of a student’s arc. Like many students here, I was a first-generation college student that grew up close by who saw education as a way to better my life. So I feel that I can relate to the average student here at JSU, and I like being in a position to help with achieving dreams.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑